In Loving

A.G. Johnson

Feb 03, 2031 – Nov 04, 2008

Albert G. Sambo” Johnson 3 February 1931 – 4 November 2008 son of the late James Samuel Johnson Sr. and Maggie Ennis Johnson brother uncle husband father grandfather great-grandfather Marine Mayor Louisa County Board of Supervisors rural mail carrier Free Mason Louisa County School Board member Mineral Volunteer Fireman Mineral Historical Society member Chairman of the Louisa County Democratic Party legislative aid in the Virginia House of Delegates and Co-Founder of Lake Anna Land Corporation. Sambo was a longtime member of the Church of the Incarnation where he served as Trustee Senior Warden and a Member of the Vestry. Sambo was some of these to a few but to everyone he met he was known as “friend”. Born in Green Springs VA he lived all but two years in Louisa County. He left the county to serve his country but returned to serve the Town of Mineral the County of Louisa and the Commonwealth of Virginia in multiple elected and appointed positions.

After 77 years of joyful living he is survived by his wife Sally a daughter and son-in-law Jacqueline and Lloyd Holbert grandchildren Troy and Marianna Wade Andy and Lauren Wade Kelly Wade and David Noel and great-grandchildren Porter Wade and Tanner Wade and of course his constant companion “Toby”.

As many of the universe’s problems were solved by the Hardee’s breakfast bunch – those who knew him best are not surprised that the consummate politician left this world on Election Day.

Visitation will be held at Woodward Funeral Home 200 Fredericksburg Ave. Louisa VA 23093 on Thursday November 6 2008 from 2-4 p.m. and again from 6-8 p.m. A graveside service will be held at Spring Grove Cemetery in Mineral VA on Friday November 7 2008 at 11:00 a.m. Military honors will be provided by the United States Marine Corps.

Serving as active pallbearers will be John L. Snider Jr. Johnnie Massie Budgie Duke Sammy Bazzanella Donald Perkins Charles Purcell Edwin Keller and Dean Agee. Honorary pallbearers will be John Cullen John Ellis Albert Rudinger John J. Purcell Stuart Hottinger Jim Bell Wilson Perkins Kenneth Boyd Eddie Terrell Jimmy Walker William Stuart Brooks Besley W.G. Thompson and Donald Johnson.

In lieu of flowers the family requests that contributions be made to The Hospice of the Piedmont 2200 Old Ivy Road Suite 2 Charlottesville VA 22903 or The Church of the Incarnation P.O. Box 306 Mineral VA 23117.